things to think about


today i am thinking about: RIP PINA BAUSCH
July 1, 2009, 12:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Pina Bausch was a genius. Her dance was visceral and beautiful, emotional and chaotic without sacrificing strong choices. I don’t want to spend the time to research her to eulogize her. Here is what the NY Times says:

Ms. Bausch, whose roots were in prewar German Expressionism, helped change the perception of what could be brought into a dance performance. Her shows featured a deep sense of theatricality; disconnected and sometimes absurd episodes; and elaborate, unusual sets, like carpets of carnations and peat moss or a collapsing wall.

But I don’t really want to write you about Pina Bausch. I think she is a choreographer. She makes dances, not speeches. Here are the things you need to see.

1) Pina Bausch’s Le Sacre du Printemps is one of the most creepy, visceral, terrifying, and beautiful things I have ever seen. The floor is made of dirt. If you only click once, click here.

2) Pina Bausch’s Cafe Muller. I think this is actually her dancing, which I find so interesting. Her body is so wiry and creepy. Her energy in her arms is so intense.

3) Pina Bausch’s Orpheus and Euridice. This is one of two operas she choreographed. Look for the fugues throughout.

Orphée et Eurydice – Pina Bausch
by falliero2
There is more but I don’t have it right now. It is amazing. She is visceral and so so quick to attack. She is an artist whose work I never got to see live and I wish I had. I should still get to, but it is still not the same.
There is another interesting-interesting post afoot about dance of a different kind; consider this a foreshadowing.
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I somehow missed when you first posted this, but thanks for the clips. I loved, loved, loved her work, and have been trying to find some video of Nefes (her Istanbul piece) since the news of her death–I saw it at BAM a few years back & was blown away. My roommate here spent some time with her and her crew when they were in the city to gather inspiration for Nefes, and says she was kind and genuine and one of those people who just quietly blazes.

Comment by elizabeth




Leave a Reply

