things to think about


today i am thinking about, briefly: THE BEST THING
September 30, 2009, 12:31 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I got myself a present last new year which is to say I got myself a huge bedroom. It is 14′ x 17′. That = 238 square feet. For those of you who live in NYC, pick your jaw up off the floor. For those of you who do not live in NYC, realize this is kind of a miracle.

Here is the miracle: it is 238 square feet AND a separate closet AND good light. It is attached to a ramshackle but loveable house that has a lot of people I like in it.

I can lay on my floor with my arms and legs spread wide and not touch any walls or even any thing. My bed is in a nook and I have 2 desks and a craftsman table and a huge bookshelf. I am so lucky.

It has been a long time since I have had a home to spread out in. My last home was my first real home in a very long time, with my friend Naomi. I am learning to keep my room clean and make a space for me, all for me, that works the way I want it to and everything is just so. I buy things for it; it’s fun to decorate.

It feels good to have a home. It feels good to make it my own. When I think of the place I want to live Someday, all I want is lots of room and lots of light and tables and overstuffed chairs. A big space to make things when I want to with enough comfort that I can like it. I feel tangibly close to that right now, which is amazing to me. What a gift. What a crazy gift.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

