things to think about


today i am grateful for: FAMILY
December 7, 2010, 2:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

A twisty donut made into a chanukkah menorah.Heath and I have been friends forever. I guess since 2004 or something, but that’s a long, long time. Forever. Heath and I are family in the way that we squabble but we care very deeply. We take good care of each other. Heath pushes me into being a better person, like buying a motorcycle jacket or thinking about living on my own. I think I provide something to push against for Heath, and a logic brain, and I don’t know. A sense of something.

Anyways. Heath and I come from very similar places and, more than that, we come from VERY similar shit. The weight of our pasts and how hard we are working. That is where Heath and I just get it. We’re family. You know? I don’t know how you say it. My experience with family is just so tricky and so often I feel alienated and weird and so I am so extra very grateful for the family I choose.

For Chanukkah we went to a diner, and made a menorah out of a donut. We ate a lot of donuts. Heath did not get too mad at me when I started singing Tina Turner in a cat voice. If that is not love I don’t know what is.

I have a lot of chosen family in my life. I think it’s because my birth family was such a disaster zone. Luckily I can count my little sister as a part of this chosen family, which feels so good. I have people in my life who really love me, who love me despite all the little and big things that make me a pain in the ass. I have so much love and so much inspiration and I am such, such, such a lucky person. I never thought in one million years I would say I was grateful for family, but here I am and I mean it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

